Baccy Pipes

Kaywoodie Relief Grain # 11 large Billiard

2 Comments

I picked this Kaywoodie Relief Grain sandblast up a while back for a few bucks. It was very dirty and oxidized but in good shape otherwise . Someone did a bad hack job on cutting the stinger. The stem was also overclocked and needed to be readjusted.

I got around to working on it yesterday.

I cleaned it up. Worked some teeth marks out of the stem button and cleaned up the tenon with some grinding, filing,sanding and buffing. I re-clocked the stem and re-drilled out the shank to a larger diameter. Simple buff and wax followed.1.jpg2.jpg3.jpg4.jpg5.jpg

I had a hard time getting out the musty old pipe smell and taste even with a good cleaning. So i gave it a simple maple syrup/ carbon bowl coating and let the bowl bake in the sun all day.

6.jpg7.jpg8.jpg9.jpg

It’s a pretty darn good smoker now . 10.jpg

I’m on the lookout for a KW Relief Grain #72 Canadian if anyone runs across one.

Til next time ,

Good smokes to you.

2 thoughts on “Kaywoodie Relief Grain # 11 large Billiard

  1. The Relief Grains are among my favorites. So is the 72S you’re looking for! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Relief Grains are some of my favorites too. I let one 72 Relief Grain slip past me the next one wont .

    Like

Leave a comment